Complaints Board (ASCB) Members

The ASCB is a nine member board, with five public members and four industry members.

Public Members

  • Raewyn Anderson – (Chair) Raewyn Anderson has been Chair of the Advertising Standards Complaints Board since 1 April 2016. She is a barrister, accredited adjudicator and an experienced complaints manager. She is very familiar with the application of standards in assessing whether a threshold has been breached. Raewyn has been a member of the ASCB since 2014.
  • Colin Magee – (Deputy Chair) Founder of a financial technology business, Colin was previously Head of Conduct at the Financial Markets Authority (FMA). In this role he had extensive experience reviewing advertising materials to assess whether they met regulatory requirements. Prior to this Colin worked in roles as a consultant and General Counsel and Company Secretary for financial services companies in the United Kingdom.
  • Leigh Emmerton – Public Health Nurse at Institute of Environmental Science and Research Ltd (ESR).
  • Marj Noble – Self-employed registered Tax Agent/Accountant who has spent some years filling disciplinary/investigative  roles within regulated and non regulated industries. Sitting member of The Lawyers and Conveyancers Tribunal. Sits for NZ Medical Council on Professional Conduct Committees filling the Layperson role. Sat for a five year term as Chair of a CAC (complaints assessment committee) with the Real Estate Agents Authority and works when required for NZ Psychologists Board on PCC’s (Professional Conduct Committees). A member of the Plumbers Gasfitters and Drainlayers Board for two terms and during the second term took responsibility for its disciplinary function.
  • Aaron Hape, FRSA – Aaron is a public policy professional with significant experience influencing decisions in the economic, health, defence, justice, and political sectors. He is the Government Affairs Partner at Roche New Zealand and serves in governance and advisory positions in the human rights and arts sectors including for the Human Rights Measurement Initiative and the Te Papa Foundation. Aaron is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts in London and is an alumnus of the Saïd Business School at the University of Oxford. He affiliates to Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairarapa Tāmaki nui-ā-Rua and was the first Māori to be elected an Associate Fellow of the Royal Commonwealth Society.

Public Member Alternates:

  • Lachlan Grimwade – Lachlan brings an informed voice of younger New Zealanders to the ASCB. With a Commerce Degree specialising in Marketing and Commercial Law, he is currently completing his Master’s degree with a thesis in political advertising. Formerly a marketing tutor at Victoria University, Lachlan is a Policy Analyst in the Ministry for Primary Industries’ Economic Intelligence Unit. He is an engaged member of the community with involvements in radio, competing at international sailing events, and supporting youth and college sport as a Trustee of the Wellington Youth Sailing Trust.
  • Diana Roy – Born and grew up in Beijing, China, Diana moved to New Zealand in 2011 for her master’s degree, and not long after graduating decided to stay permanently. Diana works as a Chartered Accountant providing financial compliance services and tax advice to business and individuals in an international Chartered Accountancy firm. Prior to this she worked for five years as an auditor and specialised in public benefit entities such as charities and schools. Diana is an active member in the Chinese community in Wellington.

The industry members come from diverse backgrounds in the advertising industry.

  • Russell Duncan – (Alternate) Advertisers (EECA)
  • Andrea Fasching – (Alternate) Media (TVNZ)
  • Stella Kasoulides Paulson – (Alternate) Media (Trade Me)
  • Grant Maxwell – (Alternate) Advertising Agencies (EightyOne)
  • Katrina Reinsfield – (Alternate) Media (Stuff)
  • Jessica Wallace – (Alternate) Advertisers (Weta Workshop)
  • Parris Downey – (Alternate) Media (Go Media)
  • Hamish Roderick – (Alternate) Advertising Agencies (OMD)
  • Nicole Jones – (Alternate) Media (Discovery)
  • Karla Fisher – (Alternate) Advertising Agencies (DDB)